Home General Discussion

Staying Motivated as an Artist

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
BenHenry polycounter lvl 11
Hey Polycount.
So it's been some time since I was last here. Quite a few years actually.
I'm here to discuss a topic, hoping it will lead to helping me find my fire again somehow.

I'll lead with what's happening. I'm a 3D artist, I've been playing around in that field for several years now. I started when I was 12 years old making visual effects with my older brother. I was a huge Team Fortress 2 fan at the time, and seeing as they were coming out with the earliest version of the Workshop (at the time, called "TF2 Contribute"), I decided to give a go at that for a while. And after submitting over 35 or so models to their website, they shipped one of my sets that I made with a friend (Black Market Business set if you're interested).

The fire was lit inside my little 14 year old poly-pushing heart.

So what did I do next? I spent the next few years making more content for Valve's several IP's, leading to success in both TF2 and Dota.
Keep in mind I was in high-school during this time. I didn't really care about my academics, and basically BS'd my way through it.
I was denying my siblings, my family, and my friends by working all the time, to the extent where it was simply not healthy. To that extent, I realized it wasn't healthy and started intentionally pushing myself outside. Through the ages of 15-17, I gradually stopped making art.