Home Technical Talk

Should I learn to make trees, or is Speedtree phasing out the need for it?

shearer157
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
shearer157 polycounter lvl 4
Hi,
As an undergrad I'm still trying to find out a lot of things about industry, and one of my biggest technical questions is about trees. I've seen gta/ the witcher 3 use Speedtree; is it the gaming standard for trees? Has it phased out the need for artists to create them in titles?
Should I bother learning to make them or just learn how to use Speedtree?
Cheers in advance

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Learn how. Speedtree requires a license fee, so is not used in all games, not even the majority I would imagine. Also the skills you will learn will carry over to many other game art tasks.

I put some resources here on our wiki
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Foliage
  • wirrexx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wirrexx quad damage
    Learning is always better. It just gives you a better understanding! =)
  • shearer157
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TIL polycount has a wiki. Awesome. Thank you, I'll give them a shot. They are so difficult to make them well! Damn you Witcher 3 and your beautiful waving branches.
  • mattyinthesun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mattyinthesun polycounter lvl 4
    Yes, you should. Even with SpeedTree there is a lot of cleanup and some remodelling to do - I create trees using ZBrush, Maya and SpeedTree - all are good for different things. Most important thing really is to deeply analyse the structure and design of trees
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Speedtree isn't actually that fast to render as the geometry isn't that efficient. A hand modeled tree will render as fast as a speedtree as long as it has LODs.
  • loggie24
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    loggie24 polycounter lvl 3