Home Unity

Unity Metallic/Metalness not showing Smoothness Slider

Rhythem02
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Rhythem02 polycounter lvl 5
Hello there folks

I'm pretty new to unity, but its pretty straight forward platform to work on.

There is one thing that I can't figure out.

The metallic option both has metalness slider and Smoothness slider.
But once I add texture to it, the glossiness slider is gone.

The texture is metalness with gloss map on it as alpha. (RGB-A)
Its exported from Substance designer.
The formap is .TGA. I rechecked it in photoshop and confirmed that the gloss map is in the alpha slot.

Here is a screen grab.

Do you guys know how to fix it.

Replies

• echofourpapa
    Offline / Send Message
    echofourpapa polycounter lvl 4
    That texture's gloss map is used instead of the slider. Just like the metal map used instead of the metal slider.
  • Rhythem02
    Offline / Send Message
    Rhythem02 polycounter lvl 5
    That texture's gloss map is used instead of the slider. Just like the metal map used instead of the metal slider.

yeah, I just figure that out just now. ;p
  • snake85027
    Offline / Send Message
    snake85027 polycounter lvl 18
    I have a question on pbr workflow. I created a ladder. I made a diffuse map, metallic map and a normal map. I am using unity 5. I am using the standard shader with the metallic workflow. I am not sure how to set up my textures in photoshop to get unity to work correctly. My metallic map has white areas for the parts of the model that reflect and dark areas for parts of the model that do not. I put that in the MEtallic slot but it looks like the entire model still reflects and is unaffected by the values of the textures. Any advice?
  • snake85027
    Offline / Send Message