Home General Discussion

How much does age matter breaking into the industry?

Nerdicon3000
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Nerdicon3000 polycounter lvl 8
Hey all. I am about to start putting together my portfolio after 2 years of studying game art and animation at AIE and had a question for anybody who has been in my situation or has some advice. I decided a few years ago to quit my job that I had been working at for 10 years to try my luck and learn how to create game art. I am now ready to put myself out there but I was wondering if it would be different for me as I am 32. It may seem like a weird question but I was one of the oldest people in my class, and was concerned that I may be looked at strangely applying for a junior position and they might prefer a someone younger.

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    I'm not in the industry (yet) so, yeah. But I'd like to think it's the skills we possess that matters the most. Good art is good art; doesn't matter who makes it.

However, there's a thing called work culture. So your personality also matters. But that is to be seen during an interview. And to get an interview, you need good art.

Do you have portfolio and such to get started on ?

Ps. 29yr old here.
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    some companies are a bit age predjudice , but i figure on the whole that if you are good enough you will get a chance. I was 35 when i broke in to the industry back in 2002/3
    47 this year and still working as a freelancer.
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage