Home Technical Talk

Optimization in a Static World

Obviously most of the optimization talk around here relates mostly to current gen/hardware practices, or to functionally last-gen mobile and handheld practices.

I am starting on a project that is sort of neither here nor there. I am making a 3D world that is completely static (no animation, no interactivity except walking and looking), with exclusively unlit shaders, and polycounts a bit closer to mobile than to current gen. BUT this project will also have a pretty large amount of non-reusable textures (for the most part diffuse only) and will run on modern, non-mobile hardware.

I'm not an expert on optimization, but I'm assuming (reasonably, I think) that all this already gives me a big leg up. However, I'd really like to take full advantage of my blessings, and go about this as sensibly as possible. I'd hate to have a big optimization opportunity and miss it. Plus, the more extra resources I can pour into textures, the better.

I have a few specific questions to that end, and obviously if I'm saying anything terribly wrongheaded or missing something obvious I'd like to hear about that too.

First of all, I'm curious if overdrawing is as big a deal with unlit shaders. I've been having trouble getting a clear answer about how much of the problem with overdrawing stems from lighting and how much of it is intrinsic to using alpha transparency. After all, older games used alpha to fake geometry quite a lot. Was overdrawing always a problem, but polycount was just a bigger one? Or is this problem somehow exclusive to this brave new gen? I'm asking because I'd LIKE to use alpha in places, if I could.