Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique and Advice !!! :)

sci_mind
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
sci_mind polycounter lvl 9
Hi everyone.

I've been making characters for about 3 years now. I've been able to work on some pretty cool projects. The thing is I dont get steady work. I really want something more stable, like a studio job.

Anyone have any advice on how I can do to get into a studio as a character artist. In my work I like to cover a wide range of styles.

Also a critique of my work, perhaps tell me what level I'm at in terms of skill level and what I need to work on.

Thank you everyone

Link to my website: www.terrell3d.weebly.com

I have more work on my artstation: https://www.artstation.com/artist/terrell783

Replies

• BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    You have some great work here, I love the Starcraft swarm creature the most. I think you just need to push your portfolio a bit more to find a steady character gig at a studio. For the work you have now, I think presentation could be better by improving posing, lighting, and layout. The black backgrounds with static poses makes them look all unfinished, and the presentation stage makes a huge difference on how your work is viewed. You art station shows that you have some good anatomy knowledge and stylization skills, but your portfolio does not. I think finishing up one of those more human characters would help your portfolio a lot.
  • Jaston3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jaston3D polycounter lvl 8
    Your quality of work is actually really good! It looks like you've sorted your best works pretty well. I would definitely try and find a better theme template and also go ahead and bite the bullet and pay for your own domain, you want to be a professional in industry so own your profession and pay that little extra for your own domain. I checked your resume and your top line "character" is spelled wrong :P