Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Atmospheric Brutalism Environment - Showcase & Critique

Hi all, first time posting here!
I'm a third-year game art student at Media Design School (Bachelor's of Creative technologies)
I'm aiming to get into environment art for games.

This is an atmospheric brutalism project I'm working on in class for my end-of-course architecture assignment. Really need to spend a bit more time on this over the coming weeks, its been put on a bit of a backburner because of a group project I'm working on.
Any comments, improvements, or other areas you think I could work on would be great, I'm hoping to get into environment art within the games industry at the end of the year, and could do with some constructive criticism :)

tumblr_nmkb8f36Ya1tsodnno1_1280.png
tumblr_nmtmx3QSPx1tsodnno1_1280.png
tumblr_nmtmx3QSPx1tsodnno8_1280.png
tumblr_nmtmx3QSPx1tsodnno9_1280.png
tumblr_nmtmx3QSPx1tsodnno4_1280.png
tumblr_nmtmx3QSPx1tsodnno6_1280.png
tumblr_nmq11cJYmk1tsodnno1_1280.png
tumblr_nmq11cJYmk1tsodnno2_r1_1280.png
tumblr_nmtn19G9rz1tsodnno3_1280.png
tumblr_nmtn19G9rz1tsodnno2_1280.png
tumblr_nmtn19G9rz1tsodnno1_1280.png
tumblr_nmtltakWgh1tsodnno1_1280.png

Replies

• mats effect
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The concrete material does not tile that great in places like you can see a line that just cuts of in the top right of the first screenshot. Also as its used so much in the scene it could stand to be a bit more detailed and higher resolution.
  • Snefer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snefer polycounter lvl 16
    First thing you need to do is to make sure your geo is really smooth, no need to save on tris for things like the defining shapes. You also need to get a better set of concrete textures, since its the base of the entire environment : ) But I really love this idea. The ones with more monochromatic look are the best :)
  • HAWK12HT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12