Home General Discussion

What should I do in future? Can I get work VISA without degree?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
kunalht polycounter lvl 2
I'm in 2nd year in Computer science in India. I started doing 3D modeling last year and I love doing game art more than programming. I am learning CG on my own via Digital tutors and some other sites and not going to any college. So what should i do next? Should I finish computer science (2 years left to finish it) ? or should I drop out of college and start learning more and then finally find a job in CG industry?
Other qustion:
If i get job in any company (US,canada) can i get work VISA without having any degree? I want to move to another country(Canada probably) for this.
check my portfolio if possible ( www.kunalht.com ) I know its not ready and obviously i can't get job with this portfolio. But i'm learning environment art and will make some more projects and put it in my portfolio. So maybe in 4-6 months i'll be ready.
So should i finish computer science ? Will it help me getting VISA (even not in same kind of job but in CG industry) ?
I really don't want to pay too much for any 3D modeling course in any college as they're very costly and so self learning is what i want to do.
Also any advise on making my portfolio better?
Thank you!

Replies

• m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    I would say finish your Computer Science degree, it is much more difficult to get a Visa without some sort of degree. Even then, try to choose things in your Comp Sci curriculum that is relevant to Tech Art. Python scripting is used in just about all the 3d programs these days, C# for tools, beyond that I don't know, I'm not super technical myself.