Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My VFX art and breakdowns

THendersonVFX
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
THendersonVFX polycounter lvl 6
Hi Polycount! This will be my first thread on here. I'm a vfx artist, and I thought I'd start sharing my work on here. Feedback and comments are welcome.

First up is a health pickup I made over a year ago. Why am I just posting this now then? Well, I was prompted to make breakdowns of some of my work, so I figured I'd include some of my concept as well as my first attempt at a vfx breakdown vid. Let me know what you think, I'm already in the process of applying some feedback I got from GDC this year.

Concept
AEx7eIa.jpg?1

Screen grab
cNFTBap.jpg?1

Breakdown [attempt #1]
http://youtu.be/yC7Q75Pkt7g

Thanks for stopping by! I'll be adding more breakdowns and FX work in progress on here soon.

Replies

• THendersonVFX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shield effect wip

sov1SRC.jpg?1
  • Yilativ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey, really interesting work, and so cool :)

Keep it up :D
  • THendersonVFX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Update: Effect in a day! I will be trying to create a new effect each day for the next few days.
    Today's effect: Orbital Strike

nova.png

warhammer_40k_dawn_of_war_II_3.jpg

I'll be making targeting textures and various textures for my materials in Photoshop, the few meshes that I'll need in Maya, and putting it all together in UDK. Hoping to have a playblast/screen grab of the final rough effect before 12pm pst tonight. Let the race begin! I'll be trying to post updates throughout the day
  • urgaffel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    urgaffel polycounter lvl 17
    While speed is good, why not take more than a day to create the effect? Would mean you have a bit more time to work on timing and polish... Unless it's just meant to be a fast prototype thing in which case ignore what I just said :)
  • THendersonVFX
    Options