Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Softz' improvement trade

Softz
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Softz polycounter lvl 2
Hi guyz,

I'm new here, i'm a second grade 3d student and i came here to get feedback on my work and to improve my English.
I'll try to feed that trade frequently and achieve my goal of being a 3d artist in video game industry.

I want to improve my skills in : Sculpting and anatomy, the all process of a charachter design and some hard surface and texture.

So let's begin with my most recent work.
I wanted to improve my skill of modeling in maya.
I started to reproduce a concept weapon from proxygreen(http://proxygreen.deviantart.com/art/Phase-rifle-concept-390131380)
phase_rifle_concept_by_proxygreen-d6g9vas.jpg

There is the wireframe
611920Rifflewireframe.jpg

And a quick render in keyshot
171607riffle2.jpg

That's my first real modeling in maya and i can see several issue on my model.

Feel free for all criticism, that's why I'm here today ;D
Have a nice day.

Replies

• AsaNYC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AsaNYC polycounter lvl 12
    Excellent work.

Tip for more help: The soft gathered shading doesn't really show the surface detail you worked to model. Use a material with a wide value range. Something around 50% should be your base color. This will let the shadows and light illustrate your forms. Additionally, the bounce lighting from the studio floor looks to be obscuring/washing out some of the details as well, so it might help to darken the floor or eliminate it altogether.

Right now it looks like you probably need to loosen some of those edges for optimal normal mapping, but I think you'll get more in-depth and informed feedback if you change up the presentation. Check the wiki.
  • Softz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Softz polycounter lvl 2
    Hi Asa,

Thank you for the feedback and the advices for better render. I definitely have to cleanup the model before creating some normal map in zbrush.