Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Working on handpainted textures!

my93eI2.png6Uow4bx.jpgI have never really done hand painted textures until this past year at school, and even that was for just one project. I am really hoping to get critiques going forward on how to improve and I will try to be doing a prop a day, or a tiling texture, depending on how much time I have. I am just starting out, so any advice/paint overs would be GREATLY appreciated.

Here is day 1, big red jungle flower I don't know the name of XD

Replies

• salmika
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lj9kehn.jpgWk7znJj.pngI have also done day 2 as I am a day late in posting, I took some advice from friends on making the poly count higher on the flower, and I know those little spikes looked very ugly with the transparency but I assure you I fixed up those gross floaty bits!

Day 2 is a leafy tall plant.
    I really wasn't sure what to do with the stem, and my leaves really aren't polished at all but bare with me!
  • AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Looks really good so far, you need some edge padding though, especially on your leaves since they're masked.

Also I'd suggest uploading your images to imgur or dropbox then linking them, you'll get more replies than using attachments since people can't view attachments unless they're logged in
  • Stranger
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stranger polycounter lvl 5
    Yeah, edge padding. but i love the warm feeling from it.
  • salmika
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars- Thanks for the tip, I'm new to posting on poly count! For edge padding, would I need to use an alpha and a targa versus a png? I didn't make an alpha as I used a png and the background color would show since it automatically does transparency when there is no back ground. Is one better than the other?