Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Iron Horde Handpainted Banner

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Jakob Gavelli interpolator
Hi guys!
I'm trying my hand on the sculpted to handpainted workflow. I'm having lots of trouble making the workflows merge. Especially how much is composite vs handpainted over it.

I know the likes of Faf uses zbrush matcaps for use in the composite tiling textures, but I don't know how to use them in full 3d props really.

I'd love any tips. I just started painting over the composite a bit, but I think I shot myself in the foot by not doing the composite texture properly before painting.

Super quick painting over the composite texture.

m1RM6P6.jpg
XUaWTVz.jpg

Based on some great Iron Horde breakdowns by Gabe Gonzalez : https://www.artstation.com/artwork/world-of-warcraft-in-game-prop-studies

Replies

• Gannon
    Offline / Send Message
    Gannon interpolator
    Cool start, the thing I noticed when I tried to replicate the iron horde feel is there's lots of size variation in the spikes. They use a lot of gradients as well in their base colors I think. I'll follow this one :D
  • Snafubar7
    Offline / Send Message
    Snafubar7 polycounter lvl 8
    Very nice!

Try to get the wood grain to be less even, it's a little too evenly spaced.
  • praetus
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus interpolator
    Three things I noticed on it. Everything is very much the same size when it comes to spikes and they're evenly spaced. The iron horde is very chaotic but your placement feels very manufactured.

Second, you have to much grain on your wood. Look at the concept and you'll notice there are more or less four breaks in the grain going across the main post whereas you have about seven. Because of this the detail and personality gets lost because you're trying to cram almost twice as much within the same amount of space.