Home General Discussion

Lost my programmer and don't know what to do now :(

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CrashMagnum polycounter lvl 7
Sorry if I'm venting a little bit here. Even though I'm mainly a lurker I love this community and can't really talk to my other friends about my specific issue here since they don't understand much about the industry.

I've been working on various projects with this one dude for over 3 years now. He would code and I would art and it was great. I haven't met a better, harder working programmer than him. For the last year we've been working on-and-off between our regular jobs on a game that I really think would be fun and possibly be a launching point for something bigger. We both vowed to stick with it until we get the damned thing done or we get a job that would prohibit us from working on it. Today I heard that my friend got a job at a game company that I know for a fact has a strict noncompete agreement.

Obviously, I'm super-excited for him but it really took the wind out of my sails. I'm working at a company that says it can do simulations but it really is just me and one programmer who doesn't know what they're doing. My job felt like a way to help pay for development of this thing but now it feels like stereotypical, soulless, gray-cubicle-land. I won't knock having a job itself, but really what was getting me through the weeks was the thought that I'm working on something creative and fun outside work.

As I'm sure you guys know it's hard to find team members for personal projects who won't flake out at a the first sign of difficulty or that cause drama. I have no idea where to start looking or if it's even possible to get someone of that caliber willing to work on this thing. I've been to a couple Baltimore/ DC dev meetups but everyone seems to have their own thing going on or, no offence to them, not very competent.