Home General Discussion

Where to start working as freelancer?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
kunalht polycounter lvl 2
I'm currently in college (computer science 2nd year). I am learning 3D modeling in MAYA , texturing and little bit of composition from last 1 year. So , at the time i'm in college (for next 2 years) i want to start working as freelancer and do some small work. Where should I start searching for works?
I can do hard surface modeling like vehicle , weapon ,environment modeling , level designing in MAYA and Unreal engine 4 and composition in After effects. Also I'm still learning from digital tutors's some advance courses.
So where should I start searching for work? Where can I get some small work?
Also, for now, I am using MAYA's student version. but for commercial use i have to buy it which i cant afford. So how is MAYA LT( 30$/mo) . Is it enough for modeling weapons and vehicles?
Thank you...

Replies

• kunalht
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Okay thanks!
    And what about turbosquid ?
    Should I start modeling weapon and cars and sell it to turbosquid?
  • dzibarik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dzibarik polycounter lvl 10
    you can do it, just don't expect to survive on that until you have like 30 car models on like 10 different sites than you probably get like 1000 bucks per month or so (actual numbers I've heard). You can put some nice assets (preferably a modular environment) and hit a good niche on Unity asset store and get the same ammount of money but if you're situated in US I doubt you'll survive on that. If you're US-UK-EU based it's probably better to find a job at some studio, gain some experience and portfolio + connections and AFTER THAT you freelance.
  • Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    fresh out of college, you should not freelance yet. try to get some studio experience, try to get some contacts.