Home General Discussion

How does job relocating affect your personal life?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
GrungyStudios polycounter lvl 8
Hey polycounters. As like all noobs I am an aspiring 3d artist with dreams to work in the industry. The thing is, If I get in the industry I know I will have to relocate. Which means leaving family and friends behind. And I know we are in an era with things like Skype, where we can connect with each other from how ever far away, but nothing beats actually physically being with your loved ones. I mean,I'm young now but in the future I want a wife and child.

I know you can relocate your family, but that would mean that they would leave everything behind too. They would have to leave their job, kid would have to switch schools and start a new life, for what, just to relocate again when my contracts over or I get laid off?

I'm just curious as to how some of you artists out there handle relocating when it comes to personal life. Or am I just overthinking and it's not really that bad? its something on my mind and I'd appreciate anyone who shares an experience with me.

Thanks.

Replies

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    @TeriyakeStyle: ><, though I'm slowly understanding the robot prostitutes idea.

On a more serious note, even with my paltry experience, I share your sentiments, Grungy. The thought of leaving friends, family, people I love and want to love behind is definitely an obstacle. Not insurmountable, but a present challenge.
  • Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    Well, as you make more game art you'll find you become more and more interested in spending time on the PC. Family and friends will only hold you back, so... screw them!