Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio criticisms

Hello,

my name is Vladimir Obuchoff and i am currently a student at SAE Institute in Koeln, Germany.

I created my portfolio and would like to know what you think about it.

Any critics, suggestions are welcome :)

You can find my portfolio here: http://www.vladimirobuchoff.byethost31.com/index.html

Kind regards
Vladimir Obuchoff

Replies

• xChris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xChris polycounter lvl 10
    My first thought seeing the first page was that none of you models were textured. You should turn off the grey/hover off, I also suggest adding some more grunge/dirtiness to your textures, a lot of it looks really clean
  • pangaea
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pangaea polycounter lvl 5
    rpg_01.jpg

The texturing could be improved on this. You should be studying PBR http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/PBR

Also, maybe I'm totally wrong here. But, should you really include a tutorial piece in your portfolio.

The rendering on everything you do seems weird. For example,
    church_LowPoly_test_01.jpg
    No offense, but why include this. You have mostly props but you include this. It looks weirdly textured.

Also, the choice of stuff is a bit weird. Its like you add random stuff you did, then decided to add a bunch of boring crap at the bottom to pad out your portfolio.

Nobody is going to be impressed with a roadworks I.e. a sign, electric box, wood barrel and a metallic barrel so why add these.
    barrel_wood_01.jpg
    There is no reason to have the above in your portfolio.
    - The crates and barrels & bare blacksmith's tables have been done a million times before, and worse, gives employers an opportunity to compare you directly to other applicants who also have those.
    And their stuff could look like this:
    http://orbart.free.fr/Gallery/Images/crate.jpg
    So it's better to do something original.