Home General Discussion

Architecture to Level Design

Hey guys, I am kinda new to the polycount boards but have found some great insightful information and plan on sticking around. I have seen a few similar posts on this topic but was looking for some more insight on the transition described in the title.

About me:
I have a bachelors degree in architecture and currently working on my masters. Both my degrees focus on heavy digital design primarily in maya and max. I love architecture but am also very interested in gaming and design due to the possibilities conceptual exploration can bring.

I understand there are many differences between the workflow in the 2 industries. The wiki section as well as world of level design has provided some great insight.

Questions:
1) In establishing goals for the next year or two what would be a realistic achievement in terms of portfolio work?

2) I believe this varies studio to studio but for a position in level design I am again guessing it would be beneficial to block, model, and map as much as possible to exhibit as many skills as possible?

3) Should I be blocking out a design in a game engine or can I work out of Maya natively?

4) I have some experience scripting in python and node based scripting in grasshopper for rhino (probably not used much here) but how difficult is it to pick up something like the similar node scripting in unreal4?

Sorry if this is a little overboard for my second post or if I have some concepts completely wrong. Hoping to start off on the right foot and tackle mistakes as they come! Thanks in advanced!

Replies

• peanut™
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    peanut™ polycounter lvl 19
    About me:
    I have a bachelors degree in architecture and currently working on my masters.