Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student portfolio help & advice

Hi everyone. This is my first post on poly count. I know there are many threads talking about this topic however if you could spare the time to help me out i would really appreciate it.

I'm a second year student at university studying computer games technology. I'm aspiring to become a environment artist and would like some advice on how best to gain access to the industry with this role.
My problem is that my portfolio is not all environment work right now and was wondering if instead of purely focusing on environment art (as i don't have much under my belt yet)should i post all of my good quality work so as to not dissuade any potential employers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks.

https://www.behance.net/LewisOliver

Replies

• Odow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Odow polycounter lvl 8
    Get rid of everything not related to your work, your 2d art and concept art are non relevant and doesn't have the level to be in your portfolio. Do 2 portfolio is you want one to show everything to your friend and family, and one professional one where only relevant work is show.

change the preview of your console, it's dark and flashy i though it was just a photoshop bash, not actual 3D work.

You need cohesion on one side you said "who specializes in environment asset creation / Level design" but your portfolio doesn't show that.

Quality Over quantity. If your goal is environment and not generalist, do environment and get rid of the character. Also WIP is not really a portfolio piece , Un-texturized (yup new word) work are really not appealing to the eye.

Also this is personal but i don't like the way you used the showoff as folder, they aren't. A barrel isn'T that interesting to look at, most people won't even click on it, but ALL your assets are hidden there !

you japanese environment is your strongest piece, show wireframe and texture breakdown of it.