Home Contests & Challenges Archives Allegorithmic's 'the THRONE ROOM'

THRONE ROOM - Deep Chasm - MARKDIDIT

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Markdidit polycounter lvl 6
Hi art buddiess! I’m MARKDIDIT (mark ehlen)

I think this is my first thread in Polycount? Saw the contest and couldn't resist!

ABOUT ME

24 year old 3d modeler / digital sculptor currently living in Las Vegas.
Specifically, I'm a creature concept artist who has recently transitioned over to learning stylized environment art.

I've been using Zbrush for approx 3 years, but I've toyed around with other 3d software on and off for maybe 10 years now. I've recently entered into that purgatory of 'not yet having previous industry experience' and ‘getting tired of re-watching every single 3d tutorial on the internet over again’. All that to say, the challenge of this contest sounds PERFECT for me!

THRONE ROOM IDEAS

I'm starting my thread super late, but I've been working on my throne room little by little since I saw it announced. I’ve spent much (maybe too much) time concepting as opposed to actually modeling, so I'm looking forward to seeing how that plays out.

I've been getting into the habit of -before starting visually at all- forcing myself to design a few ideas worth at least a sentence or two. Here's a google doc of some description/thumbnails I jotted down for this project:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/15DzH_-lR9Xgl8e54Zwa5hGtUJWf0z4L0O2dsNdl5QdA/edit?usp=sharing

A couple of the above ideas started getting really interesting to me, but were either a bit too ambitious to do solo, or wouldnt translate well to a single image / static environment. I realized a couple of the ideas call for a handful of characters to act out a scene to come across like I imagine them.

TRYING TO PRE-VIS BUT I CANT EVEN