Home General Discussion

How is it to work in the industry?

loggie24
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
loggie24 polycounter lvl 3
Hi!

I know this might be a stupid question because every studio is different but hang on.

I would like to hear your experience with things such as work hours, income, is it as great as you expected etc...

Pardon if there already is a thread like this, i have searched and found nothing.

Cheers

Replies

• WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This my 15th year with Epic Games and I can't imagine doing anything else for a living. Sometimes the hours are long and sometimes there's pain ... but that's true of any job.

I've been a level designer, a programmer and now an artist. I love that I can move around like that within the same company.

The thing I try to impress upon people who want to get into the industry is that it IS a job. There are deadlines, there are requirements, and sometimes there are crappy tasks that need doing. It's not all fun and games.

But when it's on .. it's ON. I love it.
  • loggie24
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thats great Warren! Could you tell me a bit more about the hours you are working? I'm interested to know when a typical day starts, as i'm kind of sick of waking up at 3-4am (i work as a baker currently).
  • Brygelsmack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brygelsmack polycounter lvl 11
    I'm definitely not the best person to give you answers, but I can tell you about my experience so far. I was hired by Starbreeze/Overkill (Payday 2) a month ago. So far it's been great. Work hours are normal, I usually come in at 8 or 9 and leave at 5 or 6. No crunch yet actually, but I'm sure it will come at some point. I'm fine with that.

I'm not going into details in regards to income, but for a 22 year old still living at home with no major expenses, I would say it's pretty great. I guess it could vary depending on your situation.