Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Weapon : SCAR

Hello Polycount! I am fairly new to 3d modeling, just started about a couple months ago and I thought I should post on polycount to get feedbacks and help :)
I am currently working on a Scar and it is my first time doing a weapon. All I've been doing before was do some simple objects to get used to unwrapping, 3ds max, etc.

So here's a screenshot of the weapon, still a work in progress. Feel free to comments and give me tips!
25zl8w4.jpg29xun21.jpg33lgje8.jpg

Replies

• OFPismySOP
    Offline / Send Message
    OFPismySOP polycounter lvl 6
    Is the SCAR you're making a SCAR-L (5.56 NATO) or a SCAR-H (7.62 NATO)?

The photo you provided of the rifle is of a SCAR-H but the magazine you posted is one that would be used in a SCAR-L.

I ask because the magazine you've modeled looks like a wonky mixture of both from the former and the latter.

Also, make sure to pay attention to the rounded edges on the rifle. You've nailed it in some places and need some work in others.

Other than that it's a good wip.
  • Bop@
    Thank you OFPismySOP,I didnt even know there were a SCAR-L I thought it was a SCAR-H but with a different magazine. I saw a couple of pictures and they all looked the same except with a different handle and magazine.

This is THE one I am trying to make. I believe it is a SCAR-L after reading its descriptions. I guess I will have to remake the handle too then :P.
    dnc9qr.jpg

I actually haven't rounded those edges yet. Guess I'll have to do it asap.
    Thank you for the help!

By the way what is a good polygon count for the low poly?
  • RaptorCWS
    Offline / Send Message
    RaptorCWS polycounter lvl 12