Home General Discussion

Going to GDC for the first time, and I'm clueless lol

beansauce
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
beansauce polycounter lvl 6
Hello and thank you for reading. I've been a 3d prop/environment artist for roughly 4 years now and I’m having an extremely hard time getting my foot in the door with the game industry. I just got my tax return and instead of throwing it into my endless sea of debt I decided to do something that might actually help me. Just for kicks, I went to the GDC website to see if it’s coming up and long behold it’s in about 2 weeks in San Francisco (I live in Wisconsin mind you). I decided that this would be a huge leap of faith to take a trip down there to network with people and hand off my resume.

I've never been to a convention like this at all and have no idea what to expect. I need help sorting out my mind concerning this.

1. Is this a good idea?

2. Is this a common thing for people to do to look for employment? How successful is it? Are they bothered by this? I keep thinking they're all just going to tell me "Apply on our website, kthx"

3. How should I go about introducing myself and such with the intention of asking if they are hiring for internships or entry level positions?

4. Are there certain days I should avoid doing this?

5. Any additional suggestions as to what I can do to prepare and increase my chances of making this trip worthwhile?

Thank you in advance, and if you plan on being at GDC between march 2nd-6th send me an email so we can meet up and have a chat jam43d@gmail.com. Look forward to hearing from you guys, have a great day!

Replies

• Meloncov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth