Home Technical Talk

3DS Max Target weld issue

Hi everyone!

I'm new in 3D modelling, so forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I need to connect walls with ground for a platformer game. I decided to use target weld for this, because it seems like an easiest way. But there is an issue:

6wjtkR0NpqxuAYVNWKh6xz74MsidY.jpg

When I'm welding two vertices like this, I expect selected polygon to be deleted, but instead it collapses to zero-width one, so vertices don't really welds, they just both moved to one place.

The question is: is there a modifier or tool to remove all these thin polygons, or I should stop using target weld?

Sorry for any language mistakes.

Replies

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    I can't reproduce your problem. Target weld works for me when I do what your are doing above. I do however have a script that delete zero area faces. Just select the objects you want to run it on, and drag the script from Windows Explorer into the viewport.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2904948/MaxScript/Modeling_DeleteDegenerateFaces.ms

BTW, save your scene before you use it, and there may be some verts you need to weld after.
  • HAHAYOUDEAD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks a lot for the script!

Apparently, I don't understand how the target weld works. I just applied the Reset XForm modifier to object from the first screenshot, and now target weld just won't connect vertices at all. Is it somehow depends on coordinates?
  • huffer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    huffer interpolator