Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Prop art crits

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
StevenEgan polycounter lvl 9
Hello all,

I've got my portfolio almost up and running, this is going to be focused on prop art, as this seems like it might be the ideal way to break into the Game art world. I've only got 3 models up at the moment as I'm re-texturing 2 others, and will be working on a sci-fi rifle to spice things up a little too.

Big thanks to Dan! for providing the template for this portfolio. That can be found here: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91572

I'm looking for crits on the site (though I realise it's loopy simple) and also the content. Tear it apart, I don't mind.

There are a few bits missing, like my CV, but I will be writing that up tomorrow. (gone 1am here)

Any and all feedback is most appreciated.

Thanks!

www.stevenegancg.com

Replies

• Migano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I am just a noob, but impressed by your work! Well done! From a technical point of view it is perfect in my eyes, but i am missing some different styled props. Maybe something cartoon'y, maybe something with "non solid" elements to show how versitile you are.
  • Swarm22
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swarm22 polycounter lvl 15
    I like the simplicity of the site, thats the way to go, but I would also like to see breakdowns of the props. Wireframes/textures. Solid pieces so far though, good job.
  • TomGT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TomGT polycounter
    Very nice! The site seems simple enough and going in the right direction. Though have you considered a centered view? On my screen, 1980 x 1080, the pictures are aligned to the left and there's plenty of black space on the right.

As for the content itself, those shots are pretty amazing! Call me nitpicking but I'll mention these: