THRONE ROOM - Mandate From Heaven - LunaZ

LunaZ
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
LunaZ polycounter lvl 3
Final Submission Shot:

vj1Nwna.jpg

Hi guys,
I'm new in the polycount forum and this is my first thread. Thanks to Spoon, who inspired me to take on this challenge, and so far I'm having really a lot of fun.

I chose the Mandate from Heaven theme, because I recently bought a book about ancient Chinese architecture and was playing with the thought of create something like the forbidden palace in Beijing. Well, I'll have to model a throne room for that anyway, so this challenge might the right kick in the ass to start.

So, these are kind of my inspiration:
3lMmltX.jpg

It is suppose to be very traditional. Of course first I thought of a fantasy kind of throne room. But then I felt to cliche... and I decided to back to the roots. But that's just my thought for now.

So I'm able to came up with two mock up so far. And I'll see how far I can go. Currently I like the details, but it doesn't feel majestic enough.

Version 01: Simple Ba-gua formation of the room, with the son of Heaven be-seated in the middle.
rvfi7ji.jpg

And the second version: It's more rectangular, but I still wanted to keep the eight sides of the Ba-Gua symbol.
mUq20ax.jpg

I'm planning to use 3DsMax, Zbrush (If I have to), PS for sure. I'm still not sure about the engine, though. many people recommended Unreal to me, but since I only can work on this project on the weekend, I'm not sure if I'll have enough time to reach a good quality. On the other hand, Unity3D might still not be the best choice.

I'll try to post some pictures of details and hopefully I can keep this thread updated (I'm horrible in posting in forum... never know what to say.)

Replies

• Spoon
    Offline / Send Message
    Spoon polycounter lvl 11
    Wait... your second version is already super awesome!! :D
  • LunaZ
    Offline / Send Message
    LunaZ polycounter lvl 3