Home Technical Talk

New to 3D Art - Texturing Software

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Jakub interpolator
Hello everyone,

Firstly, sorry for creating the topic, I wasn't able to find anything related to my question.

I am a newbie in 3D Modeling, I've been learning sculpting in Zbrush for quite some time and now I decided to go further and "find" myself a suitable software for modeling and texturing. I found Maya to meet my expectations as modeling tool, but I struggle with picking up a texturing one. So far, I've been only using polypainting in Zbrush.

I asked people around, used Google and I think that I narrowed everything to 3 softwares: Mari, Substance Painter/Designer and Photoshop texture painting. I am just not sure on which I should focus.

That is why, I wanted to ask for advice, what a newbie should pick at this point, which tool would be the best pick towards working as character artist in Game/Film industry. Also, if someone experienced would say, what you think about these programs, I'd be grateful.

Thank you in advance.

Jakub

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Photoshop.

Photoshop is the basis for most of your possible painting needs. It allows you to not only texture, but edit images, etc. Texture files are usually PSDs. Substance Painter, etc. may help with texturing, but it's the usual intention to ouput stuff done there to a Photoshop PSD.

Get Photoshop. It is recommended and has been a mainstay for years.

Do you have any work that you've been posting online?
  • Jakub
    Offline / Send Message
    Jakub interpolator
    Thank you JadeEyePanda,

Already got my Photoshop license, as I used it before to get some tweaks done in my works :)

I finished a GnomonOnline course recently so I have some stuff done, mainly busts, painted in Zbrush. I don't want to spam it here, so I'll just throw last ones:

Orc Bust
    VovdjLR.jpg
    Alien Bust
    Qpv7igQ.jpg