Home Quixel Megascans

AWAITING CONFIRMATION: Quixel Suite 1.8 issues and remarks

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
pior grand marshal polycounter
Hi Quixel staff.

A bit of background : I am familiar with various iterations of DDO as I have been testing the program for a few years now (Legacy and Suite). Most of my experience is with DDO Legacy, having used it on a few personal projects. I however never had the opportunity to use the more recent DDO releases to their fullest, and since I have some more time on my hands now I thought I'd use this as a chance to dive in deeper. On the technical level my goal is to produce results fully compatible with Marmoset Toolbag2 and UE4.

I should also mention that I have had the pleasure to chat in person with both Teddy and Ryan over the past few years, which always resulted in very interesting exchanges about the program.

I am hoping to use this thread to report everything that I find problematic or counter-intuitive about the Suite in its current state, in order to help its further development.

I am on Win7prox64, Photoshop CS5 Extended (12.1) with Windows set to its most basic theme (XP style) for maximum performance. I am running a triple monitor setup off a GTX750Ti.

2014-12-1607_28_58-ScreenResolution_zpse7f163f4.jpg~original

I installed the Quixel Suite to C: \Program Files\Quixel, as the default install path for the program seemed to be inside my Windows user folder, which is not appropriate.

Inconsistent behavior on suite launch

Starting from the very beginning, I notice some inconsistent behavior depending on the way I launch the suite. Most of the time it goes as follows :