Home Technical Talk

Question on baking Normals. (BIG NOOB HERE)

manilamerc
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
manilamerc polycounter lvl 6
I have a few questions on baking normals. What are some guidelines I should follow when baking normals??

Here I have a low poly followed by a high poly. I want to bake the the high poly detail onto the low. I have baked a normal map in 3ds max before but I indeed had some issues that I had to paint over. What I want is to get it right the first time or at least paint minimal things.

bVlD2QL.jpg

Now thing is when I align the high poly over the low as you can see here there is the low poly going over the high. (which I pointed out in blue)
It would seem I need more geometry in the low poly model. Is this correct?

Or am I totally missing out on something??

OVERALL... I just want a smooth looking model like the high poly but have it actually a low poly model. Do you guys reto indtead? Share your thoughts please...

I come from a character modelling background for baking normals and now I'm doing environments. So simple things like this I would like to know. Thanks

911r3l9.jpg

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    You're correct. The closer your LP follows the topology of the HP the better your normal bakes will be, especially on curved corner pieces like that.

Meshes always lose a little bit of volume when subdividing, most noticeably along rounded surfaces and corners with a lot of space between edge loops. You might want to bump up the number of edges you are using to build your HP if you are expecting to also use that mesh as your low poly.
  • Zepic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zepic polycounter lvl 11
    sPrOl2U.png

This will help you out too. When baking hard edges you can get those nasty black lines along the corners.
    Also, what are you using to bake; XNormal?
  • JedTheKrampus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message