Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique - Level Designer / Level Artist

Cheers guys! :)
I've been around for quite some time and finnaly decided to join such a great community. I'm a level designer / environment artist a bit of vfx artist. I've just put together some of my projects. I hope to listen to your feedback, critique and suggestions, guys!

I think I have to add more before/after and progress shots to support level-design side. How do you think?

And what do you think about overall design/usability?

Here it is: www.denis-armand.com

Thank you in advance!

Replies

• mats effect
    "level designer, environment artist, VFX artist" I think most people on here would advice you to pick just one of those and focus all out on it. The work its self looks pretty cool though :)

I think you also have way too many pages I am not even close to being an authority on portfolio layouts etc but the general consensus seams to be keep it as simple as possible.
  • JustGarry
    Offline / Send Message
    JustGarry polycounter lvl 4
    Some really great work Denis, would lose the interior scene though it's nowhere near the standard of the other work.
  • pixelpatron
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelpatron polycounter
    I gotta agree about the interior, the material definition is just not there. You also broke the cardinal sin of lighting, you placed point lights around your ceiling light fixtures. Thus making weird halo's around them. This is completely un-natural and really breaks the sense of realism. In reality, those can lights would make the area on the floor brighter not the ceiling. PLEASE PEOPLE NEVER NEVER DO THIS!

Exhibit A:

IMG_0038.jpg

Light source - ceiling, light on table coming from said source. Sorry for the rant, this just always bugs me.
  • sltrOlsson
    Offline / Send Message
    sltrOlsson polycounter lvl 14