Home Technical Talk

Some Maya issues

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
huffer interpolator
I've been using Maya for about 6 months now, coming from 3dsmax, and I have a couple of issues and questions that I desperately need fixes:

1. Rotation gizmo in ortho views is greyed out on some part, what purpose this has? I can't rotate while clicking on the gray part of the gizmo. Somtimes, there is no grayed out part, but rotation doesnt work unless I click guess on another part of the gizmo.

rotation1.jpg

2. When using Isolate mode, I can still select the hidden faces, rendering the mode useless in a lot of cases (when cutting polygons for instance, I have to detach the faces I want to cut to avoid hitting invisible faces).

isolation1.jpg

3. Related, Hide unselected with a subobject selected hides everything, so if I'm modeling and need a better view, I have to go to object mode, lose my selection, hide what I need to hide, go back to my object. Hide selection works if you're in subobject moded on the other hand.

4. When doing bevels, the inner bevels get assigned default Lambert1, instead of the applied material, any way to keep the material assigned to the mesh?

5. If I import objects, they get renamed with a ":" in their name, and I can't use some operations on them (like froxnormal export, or some scripts). Any way to change the default name structure for imported meshes?

6. After many uses of Focus and the Viewcube in Ortho views, sometimes viewport clipping kicks in, and mesh is like a cut-away, I'm unable to select everything. I have to create a new Ortho view, or change viewport clipping settings, also Viewcube dissapears, even If I create a new ortho, so I can't go to left or front view without going into another default Ortho and use the Viewcube there.

7.If Cameras are hidden and I hide something, using Display - Geometry - Show all also shows the cameras again, even though there's a separate Show Cameras just below.