Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Charlie's Chocolate Factory

Hi everyone!

I'm new to Polycount, but I figured I'd share some work from my third year at uni (Sheffield Hallam). As I'm new to this, please let me know if I've posted this in the wrong place.

The brief was to create a beauty shot image in CryEngine 3 of a game based on an existing non-game media franchise. The obvious choices were action films that could easily be adapted into game worlds, but I fancied a bit of a challenge. Instead, I went with the 1971 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory' (a childhood classic) and attempted to build a scene that depicted the factory several years after the events of the film.

Everything in the scene was made from scratch by myself, and the project lasted a few months.

As with all old work, I know that it is riddled with flaws. The project is finished, but I'd really like some constructive criticism that I can use in future work, so fire away!

Here are a few screenshots of the finished scene, along with some presentational posters with some technical info. There's also a video walkthrough of the level's blockout.

Thanks in advance for looking, and I hope you like it!
(EDIT: Forgot to add one of the images, so I've re-linked them)

finished_small.jpg?format=1500w

?format=1500w

focus02.jpg?format=1500w

a2_gameArt01.jpg?format=1500w

a2_gameArt02.jpg?format=1500w

a2_gameArt03.jpg?format=1500w

Here's the walkthrough:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NmjxQ686kw&list=UUIbK98so0jCRtzMeW2xYVYg

Replies

• Auldbenkenobi
    Offline / Send Message
    Auldbenkenobi polycounter lvl 11
    WOW. Suddenly I feel very inadequate in my work...
  • WesleyArthur
    Haha thanks! This project was a massive learning curve - but really fun!
  • Swarm22
    Offline / Send Message
    Swarm22 polycounter lvl 15
    Looks good, man, but I think it might be a little too dark. It's hard to see.
  • j.god
    Offline / Send Message
    j.god polycounter lvl 4