Home Technical Talk

Quixel Suite - Substance Designer - should I use them?

Okay, first of all, let me explain to you guys something! I am graduating this year :D and I will be creating my graduation reel soon. I know the in and outs of nDo but I never really touched dDO, 3Do and the same goes for Substance Designer.

Today, I was seeing the Quixel suite demo and also the substance designer one. I loved'em both. Now, I got a few questions:

a) Do these software suites have a great future in terms of workflow integration and working?

b) I know these are extremely efficient, but I'm still going to ask for you guys' opinion! Is it really that efficient?

c) I heard someone say that we students should make rust, grunge, decay etc. textures from scratch and not use the hep of any 3rd party softwares. Is this true? I mean to say (I sound like a super noob here :poly124:), will it hamper the manual ability to create finer detailed stuff like rust, grunge etc. using these third party softwares? I am also under the impression, don't know how far true this is, that studios prefer artists who can create all those finer texture details manually with the main softwares like photoshop, zbrush, mudbox etc. rather than taking help from 3rd party softwares. I dont yet use 3rd party softwares to create those details.

So, should I use them? Any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks! :)

Replies

• Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    As a student in his last month and part time 3D artist myself I would strongly recommend you to practice doing those things manually and not with such software. Depending on where you end up the chances are that you won't have those things at hand and therefore your personal workflow might not be an option.