Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Barbarian - Student Daily Progress

Posting the past 3 days all at once. I was having some problems getting my account working properly. A little about this project and myself. I am currently a student at Full Sail University and I am striving to succeed as a character artist in the gaming industry. This is my first project within my finals and just wanted to get as many eyes on it for potential feedback as possible.

As we were not allowed to work from concept had to piece a lot of real world reference as possible and still doing as I need them. Overall idea is a Nordic influenced barbarian slightly stylized.

Critiques and Feedback are much appreciated (you cant hurt my feelings)

Day 1: Got the general proportions for the character knocked out.

Day 2: Originally when the character was pitch to my Art Director (Instructor) we had to do a basic blockout within maya a couple months ago. Seeing it these past two days I have made drastic changes to the proportions for the better I think. So there are a lot of blockouts that still need some tweaking as I move along the model.

Day 3: Decided to let the helmet set the tone for the rest of the model. I plan to have the model to this level of detail by Monday morning for my first big critique. Still needs some refining, but I think it is safe to move on to other parts of the gear.

Replies

• JPotts
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Day 4: Got my shoulder pad to a decent level of detail. I need to do the same with the tasset, boots, and vambraces. Still on schedule =)
  • OctoKube
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    OctoKube polycounter lvl 2
    looking awesome! Great helmet, really sets the tone.
  • Deathstick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Deathstick polycounter lvl 7
    It's looking great so far!