Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Building my Portfolio - Need your Feedback ;)

DonCornholio
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
DonCornholio polycounter lvl 9
Hello Polycount !
I'm a student from Germany, currently in his 6th Semester, who needs to build up his Portfolio. I will post my Models and work in progress screens here, in the hope of getting some feedback that might help improving my skills.
I've been working on a few decent Game/Mod Projects in the past 5 years, but all this Stuff is old and ugly, so i'll start this Portfolio from scratch.

First Piece will be a fantasy style Sword, that i've been working wayyyy to long on.
I know i should have seeked help here earler, but i kinda was afraid to embarrass myself :poly142: .

I'm currently finishing the high poly phase, and i've got some things that i already dont like but i want to hear what other people think first, before i get lost in tweaking every little detail ^^.

So here it is , now tear it apart ! :

Sword01.jpg

HandleClose01.jpg

HandleFeathers01.jpg

HandleClose02.jpg

Thanks in Advance for all your help :)

Replies

• billymcguffin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    billymcguffin polycounter lvl 11
    The feathers look too uniform and not feathery to me. Try adding detail to the individual feathers and ruffle 'em up a little bit.

Also the pommel thing at the end of the grip looks a little blobby. Is it metal? if so try to make it more solid, then add in some dents/scratches/whatever.

Cool design!
  • PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    Are they supposed to be real feathers attached to the sword. Or are they made of bronze or steel to look like bird' wings ?
  • rogelio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rogelio greentooth