Home General Discussion

Thinking of buying a new PC

Lephenix
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Lephenix polycounter lvl 6
Hello fellow polycounters :)!

With the recent e3 and my admission at the Supinfocom school. I'm thinking of buying a new pc.
I want it to be for next-gen gaming with max settings (Assassin's Creed Unity, The Division, Star Wars Battlefront etc...)and also for concept art, illustration, (and maybe animation/modeling for school work).

My budget is around 1000$
Here's the parts I chose right now:

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Lephenix/saved/H7TzK8

It will be my first build. So I'm quite new with components selection. But I did researches, and used websites to help me choose. It is quite a big move because I actually have an intel pentium, a radeon HD 5450 and 4GB of ram.
What do you think of what I have right now?
Thank you ^^.

Replies

• RobeOmega
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
  • .Wiki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    .Wiki polycounter lvl 8
    I wouldn´t buy this "gaming" RAM. You can get away with half the price if you buy 4x4GB standard corsair or kingston.
    Also take care of high RAM frequencies. They sound cool but it is useless if your cpu doesn´t support such a frequencies.
    I don´t know if the actual intel cpus support more then 1333Mhz without overclocking... Also most of the time the higher frequencies are combined with higher latencies, so they can be slower then dimms with a lower frequency.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Second getting an SSD, I would say a 240/256GB SSD for OS/apps and working art files, along with a 1TB or larger HDD to archive files onto when you're done with them. SSD makes a big difference in overall quickness. 120GB at the very least, trust me even if you blow your budget you really want an SSD.