Home General Discussion

Moving from Max to Maya

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Michael Bartrum polycounter lvl 5
Hi Pollycount,

I've been using 3ds Max for the past 6 years or so, and I'm about to start university on a 3D modeling and animation for games course. The only thing is that the course uses Maya as it's primary modelling software.

I'm unsure what to do as I haven't ventured into Maya at all, but it's looking like my only option. I've also heard that it's a nightmare moving from one package to the other and your tried and tested workflow is completely ruined.

Does anyone have any tips or advise for me in regards to having to migrate to Maya coming from 6 years of Max?

Cheers!

Replies

• NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    Coincidentally there was a thread made earlier today about a $5 course on how to learn Maya if you already know how to use Max. I watched the videos a while back when they were free and a lot of the information seemed pretty solid (although to be fair, I only watched them as a learning experience, I have no interest in ditching Max for Maya!)

Here's the thread, it could come in handy!
  • Fogbrain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fogbrain polycounter lvl 5
    This is quite funny since I was gonna plan to do the exact same thing but in reverse, but I stayed in Maya and to my benefit it's worked out. I haven't gotten 6 years experience, only about 1 and a half.

But I'll do my best to explain, Maya is very shelf based, and it's specialty definitely lies in animation, and thankfully for you, ever since 2015 came out, they've taken quite a few things from 3DS Max with the new modelling toolkit. Max is a very mechanical program from what I've seen, and Maya feels more like an open toolbox, and it's very user friendly to navigate the menus, as opposed to Max in my experience.