Home Technical Talk

Rigging Study.

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
deohboeh polycounter lvl 5
[vv]21539134[/vv]

If you can't see the video like me http://vimeo.com/21539134 is the link.

This is the reel that got Riham Tolan into Crytek to work on Ryse. Could you help me study the reel to understand what is exceptional about this reel? I am a noob teaching myself so understanding this would help.

This is her reel currently.

Thanks in advance! :)

EDIT: Got it to work! :D

Replies

• deohboeh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • AviKohl3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AviKohl3D polycounter lvl 5
    Lots of advanced features like stretchy spine, IK/FK switch and matching, mel UIs, deformation controls. I intend to specialize in rigging and animation myself so I find it quite impressive.
  • antweiler
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    antweiler polycounter lvl 8
    I find the rigged car remarkable, it shows creativity of rigging non standard (biped) characters, besides the impressive technical features AviKohl mentioned before.
  • Mrfred
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mrfred polycounter lvl 4
    AviKohl3D wrote: »
    Lots of advanced features like stretchy spine, IK/FK switch and matching, mel UIs, deformation controls.

aren't those thing standard and the minimum required for a rig nowadays?
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mrfred wrote: »
    aren't those thing standard and the minimum required for a rig nowadays?
    Short answer: No, at least not in games.

Squash and stretch animation hasn't been widely used in games for a few reasons.

1) It tech heavy