Home General Discussion

Games and its harmful effects for work efficiency

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
inflict3d polycounter lvl 7
Hello guys.
I have an interesting question to discuss: do games harm your creativity snd efficiency of work? Do you ever have feelings that playin' games is just wasting the time? Becase you can always do smth to develop your skills (modeling, texturing, etc) instead of playin' games. Is it possible to be a good character (environment)/game artist without playin' any games? (maybe it sound a little stereotypically)
Thanks in advance for your opinions!
And excuse for my english :\

Replies

• Raptor_Arts
    I'm no professional artist or anything yet but for me I think playing games keeps my imagination active and certainly keeps my ambition alive, I also find it good for inspiration but many other artists may get their inspiration from just taking a walk through the park and may have never played video games before. Playing games is not wasting time at all in my opinion, but to progress in whatever area you wish to progress in if that is your aim then you should balance your time between work and play.
    Constantly doing work will eventually tire you out and you will more than likely get fed up, so its good to take the day off every so often and kick back, play games or do whatever it is you enjoy doing.
  • inflict3d
    Offline / Send Message
    I also find it good for inspiration but many other artists may get their inspiration from just taking a walk through the park and may have never played video games before.
    Yes, as for illustrators/classical artists (with oil and watercolor) they haven't any connection with game industy. But I want to know an opinion of game/concept artists.
    Anyway thanx for answer Raptor_Arts
  • JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    It depends.

I sometimes play games when I should be making 2D/3D art. However, not all game time is bad.