Home General Discussion

Charging for character model?

I'm getting started on a freelance modeling gig and they're asking about numbers. I'm still kind of new to freelancing, so I could use some suggestions for both hourly rates and fixed prices.

They're asking for a character model, in a cartoony style, that's about 1500 polys, for a game. I would likely also be unwrapping and texturing, myself.

I've been out of school for two years now, and have done one internship as a modeler, one freelance job for which I did modeling, texturing, lighting and rendering, and two volunteer projects, doing 2D animation and 3D environment modeling. The last two games ended up falling through.

So based on what they're asking for, and my experience, what can I reasonably ask for?

Replies

• RobeOmega
  • Blaizer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaizer interpolator
    Well, in Europe, the less you can charge per hour are 30€ if you want to pay all your taxes and live well... and not as a poor and stupid slave.

If you are asked to do the work faster, working more hours than 8 hours per day, you MUST charge more money per extra hour. And if you are forced to work on weekends, much more.

If they have already provided you a concept you should have a timeframe in mind. But i say you that a character with 1500 tris (poligons), mapped and textured in the old way (hand painted) are being done in 3 days as much... and with a 1024 texture.

So, if you work 3 days, 720€ plus taxes should be your minimum price for your services (in Spain taxes are a 21%).

Of course, you can charge more if you already have a name and your level of quality is pretty high.

Another thing: if they ask a baked model from a hi-poly or a normal mapped model, the price increases.

It would be good to see other freelancers sharing info, but in this forum they don't like to help in this matter due to the fear of the competence/rivals.