Home General Discussion

One for the Graduates!

Hey guys and gals :)

I'm a recent Graduate, just finished 3 years of University doing a Games Development Course. It's looking very unlikely that I am going to get a job any time soon in the Games Industry and I'm willing to bet that it's the case with most Graduates looking to get into the Industry too.

Basically I would just like to ask what you other guys are doing and if you have any advice?

In my spare time I'm going to put together a portfolio with the aim of still pursuing a career in games, but it's going to be rather difficult as about 95% of the jobs ask for so many years experience and I just don't have that because I've been at Uni and College the past 6 years of my life!

I do have an idea of putting a small team together of Graduates to perhaps make some games for mobile or perhaps PC, mainly for the benefit of we can then all say we have some experience working as a team and have developed a game.
But would this idea even work and would people be willing to do that?
I mean look at some of the indie developers out there that are now swimming in it with franchises like Angry Birds etc.

I feel like I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place and if any other graduates out there feel the same then please share your story so that we may advise each other and perhaps help each other out.

Or even better if you would like to form a team of graduates to develop a game then lets do it! :thumbup:

Replies

• LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    When it comes to the experience "requirement" if you think your portfolio is good enough, then apply. Now, the experience numbers are likely a little more important when it comes to positions that may have some management duties, such as "Senior" and "Lead".

So, to reiterate. If you think your work is good enough, and the position isn't "Senior" or "Lead", then disregard the "experience requirement".
  • skyline5gtr
    Options