Home Technical Talk

Faogen 3 - per-vertex and texture AO baking

Once upon a time there was a tool for baking ambient occlusion, Faogen. Somewhere in 2008 it's development stopped.

But finally, it is back with new version. Faogen 3 is a complete rewrite with use of modern GPUs for faster baking with better quality.
s4.jpg

Right now it's only a pre-release version, which didn't include all planned features. But per-vertex and texture AO baking is already fully functional.

This update is free for all previous users of Faogen. And for new users there is 50% discount during pre-release test period.

Get it here: www.faogen.com

I'm a developer of Faogen. And if you have any questions about it I will be glad to answer.

Replies

• Grimmstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Grimmstrom polycounter lvl 7
    Excellent, I've been using Faogen 2 for the last couple of years and I love it. Look forward to trying this out
  • Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Hey i really liked this ages ago, was going to post in this thread "isn't this dead?" But apparently it's not :)

I really missed not being able to use the normalmap on the lowpoly when baking. Has that been added? Also it was pretty annoying that the padding took longer than the baking itself...
  • ryhor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Normalmap isn't supported yet. I'm going to experiment with it later, but right now there is already very much to do before final v3 release.

Edge padding now is done entirely on GPU. And it is so fast, that there is no need to manually define its radius, padding is fully automatic :)
  • haiddasalami
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haiddasalami polycounter lvl 14