Home General Discussion

Your opinion on Game piracy...

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Blond polycounter lvl 9
When I was a student at my 3D program, I would see alot of student playing illegal hacked games on their computer.

For me it's basically theft..it's the same as stealing a game copy in store except there's no clerk or camera to stop you...

However, what made it even more wrong was that some of them wanted to go in the game industry and I told them that hi-jacking the game was stupid because it's like if you were hurting an indsutry ( that is already becoming crappy) in which you are going to work in.

Replies

• WarrenM
  • Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    Piracy is a complex issue because there isn't necessarily a right answer for a lot of questions it raises.

Example: If there was no alternative to buying the game, would the person who pirates it have spent the money and thus supported the developers?

You can't effectively answer that question for large portions of the people who pirate games. Some people pirate because they don't have the money, some pirate because they want to try something out that they might not otherwise, some people pirate because there's no effective legal alternative (buggy DRM, retail unavailability in their country, etc.). All of them pirate because it's easy.

As a game developer, I dislike piracy because it means less money goes to developers when piracy is rampant. That's basically my only argument against pirating games. I think devs should be able to feed themselves, so I think people should pay money for the product devs produce.