Home Technical Talk

3DS Max Beginner help

Hey everyone. I unfortunately learned Maya in Uni once graduating I discovered no video game companies use maya and generally use zbrush and 3ds max so my degree is null, void and a huge waste of time.

I'm trying to teach myself 3DS max but, unfortunately I'm in china at the moment (until january) and can't access youtube for all the wonderful tutorials it has so I was hopping you guys may help me.

I've gone through the user base tutorial and so far know how to;
Create a box.
manipulate it's shape very simply.
apply a texture to it that doesn't match up to it's UV map.

What I'm looking to learn is;
How to create subdivisions
get rid of this weird white box guide line that's around my geometry
find the UV map function so that I may correctly add a texture to it. ie; make a dice.

If anyone can direct me to a tutorial that doesn't rely on videos or can tell me themselves that would be great.

Also browny points to who ever can inform me a way to learn zbrush legitimately without shelling out lots of money for software I don't know how to use yet, that would also be appreciated but, not required at this moment.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Hey everyone. I unfortunately learned Maya in Uni once graduating I discovered no video game companies use maya and generally use zbrush and 3ds max so my degree is null, void and a huge waste of time.
    Woah, woah, what? I thought it was the opposite. 3DS Max is barely used in the game industry with more studios taking up Maya.

This whole channel is dedicated to 3DS Max. Here's a video showing the uv mapping process.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDKUkqTKt80&list=FLXow_l6k4j8gKKxh_giAwZw&index=36

I heard about the white box problem but I forget how to disable it. Watch this tutorial and I think this guy tells you how.