Home General Discussion

Salary In Montreal

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
melong polycounter lvl 14
Hi guyz,

I don't know if this question has been asked specifically but i didn't find anything about it when searching.

I recently had an offer from a company based in Montreal.
From what i have now and the information i could get, i find this is a rather low offer but i really have no idea what money my profile can make over there.

So i'm a generalist game artist since almost 8 years mainly on mobile phones. I do really various tasks from concept, 2D to 3D, animation with a main focus on dynamic stuff like rigging, animation, FX, shaders, tech art (i can code in CG/GLSL, C#, Python) etc...

The salary i have been offered is 45k$ CAD a year.

It would be really helpful if some of you had some numbers to throw around in relation with my background and in the area of montreal.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• shaderfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shaderfx polycounter lvl 9
    $45k is low for Montreal (for your experience/skills...going by only what you said, not being able to verify). Like Hermit said, it is on the top-end of junior pay.
  • Alphavader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alphavader polycounter lvl 11
    you could also try pages like "Glassdor" to get an insight.
    Good side - would be nice, if more people give some anonymous insight
    about salarys and reviews!
  • LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    I left you a PM. I didn't feel comfortable posting about my past salary in Montreal publicly. I've got less than 3 years of experience and that number sounds kinda low to me.
  • Clos3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Clos3d polycounter lvl 17
    I live and been working in MTL my whole life, 45k is a Junior salary.For 8years of experieces, as you said, is low.

A standard offer for your level will be 2-3week vacation and at least 55-60K.