Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sthlm Central Station WIP

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Connecta polycounter lvl 7
Hi!
So I have set out to make an abandoned/apocalyptic Stockholm Central Station in UE4 for various reasons - but mainly because I haven't done any environments before (been doing more stylized characters). Been working on this scene for a couple of days now.

As I'm new to enviornments and UnrealEngine I'll gladly take criticism and feedback.

To begin with I'll mainly do one "frame" and fill it, and after that I will do the rest.

So this is the scene,
qAR3aDD.jpg

And this is how it's looking at the moment, currently 50,232 tris (I have no idea how many is acceptable for a scene:))
QIO0c7w.png
YLiUCo6.png

The bark-material is currently taken from Epic's Demo, I'll do one when I get time later on.

One problem at the moment is that I really want the screens to have electricity - yet I still want the apocalytic setting.

Replies

• Ghostman511
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    For a first environment this is looking pretty great so far! However there are a few conflicting things. Now I'm no scientist but I'm pretty sure trees grow towards sunlight, and require it to grow. having the tree grow from darkness (like in your first shot) is just unrealistic. One way to rectify this is maybe open up the ceiling a lot more to let some light in (as if the room caved in). This will make it more believable that plant-life can grow in the environment.

IMO having the signs still lit with electricity and then having these trees that by the looks of them have taken decades to grow, just doesn't really fit together well. Apocalyptic scenes are always fun, but unless you can figure out a way to incorporate why there is still power years after "the collapse" it would be better for your scene to pick on or the other.