Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Development Diary - Dilza

Hello everyone,

I've been lurking on the forums for quite a while and thought I'd bite the bullet and work on improving myself from feedback by fellow artists.

ABOUT ME
My name is Dillon (Dilza), I live in Newcastle Australia and I am a fresh face in the whole 3D scene.

I studied 3D Games Art and learn the very basics in Cinema4D, which I continue to use today.

I have noticed a lot (or majority) of you guys/girls use Maya and zBrush, which I am not sure if they are better as I have not tried them.
Any pros/cons on the software would be great! :)

WHY I'M HERE
I'm working on a solo (so far at least) video game project.
The game is planned to be reminiscent of Animal Crossing, with RPG elements thrown in as well.

I have started some basic modelling of trees, rocks and other environment objects and all only have basic colours thrown on as textures.

I am looking for pointers on how to increase my quality of work as well as learn the ins and outs from you spectacular people. :)

If you wish to add me on Skype for whatever reason, I'm always online. My username is 'dillonbird93'

Replies

• Dilza
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rock Set
    I really like the way they turned out, quite simple but you still know what they are.
    Plain grey texture.
    [SKETCHFAB]909cb5058fb74238a6ed5ef1fcc22516[/SKETCHFAB]

Tree (Type 1)
    Extremely simple (too simple for my likings) Sapling as when tree is planted (it will display as this until watered an X amount of time passed(
    Plain brown and three green textures.
    5D6w9kE.png

Tree (Type 2)
    An improvement on the first tree.
    Plain brown and green textures.
    Gaz40GO.png
  • Dilza
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tree Texture
    This is my first attempt at hand-painting a texture of any kind.
    Created in Photoshop
    Z1g4RNI.jpg
  • Dilza
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tree with texture applied