Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modeling Portfolio

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
OlivierC polycounter lvl 6
Hi, my name is Olivier and I have been visiting Polycount for a long time, but never posted because I don't have any experience in game art. I have been modeling for animation for a few years now and would be interested in moving to games. The problem is I dont have much experience in texturing, which seems to be very important in the game industry, where they generaly don't split modeling and shading. I am however experienced in generating normal maps and displacement since we use those in animation too.

I have been working for the past two months on updating my portfolio. I have been following the advices I found here: simple navigation, information easy to find, and make the art as visible as possible

http://oliviercouston.com/

Let me know what you think I should improve. Are there too many images? Is the link to my resume visible enough? Should I keep the social sharing buttons or are they too gimmicky and unprofessional ?

Here are some sample images to tease you, hope they are not too big:

bruce-wayne.jpg

katie.jpg

falco.jpg

sandman.jpg

ardan.jpg

Replies

• Cactus on Fire
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cactus on Fire polycounter lvl 10
    Dude, these are top notch works. Also I really dig the material and render setup you got here.

There are various apps out there to help you with auto-unwrapping the models properly until you can do them by hand. As for texturing, I suggest you do a youtube marathon and read cg magazines for cartoonish texturing. Here's a nice example of the unwrap and texture process of a popular animation.

https://vimeo.com/77399216

I don't think there's anything wrong with the images. And on the contrary, social sharing links are only there to increase the speed of sharing cool finds like this so people dont have to copypaste urls :P

Overall these are awesome. Keep it up !
  • OlivierC