Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Valley of the Suck! (Character Art)

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Mr.Moose polycounter lvl 7
Hey everyone, I am an aspiring 3-D artist and.. Well.. I wanted to start this thread and see if I can't get better at where I want to take my art! (I didn't post this in Sketchbook because it is going to be an on going bunch of critiques and such..)

With that being said I could really use some help! My goal at the moment, is to just become a decent character artist. I've got a strong grip on modeling, unwrapping, and texturing... though my sculpting skill is sub par. Small Imgur Album of some of my work -> http://imgur.com/a/SQcNt#0

Right now though..I suck. I really do, there is no denying it. I am trying and trying to master Zbrush but I am just killing myself trying to sculpt everything out. I feel like I know everything I need to do, and can visualize it in my head, but my hands just don't want to translate it with the tools given to me.

If you have any advice to offer I would be more than happy to take it! Where to start... for instance.. Is hard to figure out from google!

I figured I'd start learning the face and eventually move down the body as I learn to make characters, and once I have an understand of the human body I will attempt some not so realistic sculpts.

So here we go! Just going to try and do something daily, and then pick it up a notch during the summer. Maybe dedicate an hour a day to each part of the face until I can brush it out real fast.. Any recommendations/what you did to get where you are?

Zbrush feels really foreign..but here is what I did today.

GWZSeQK.jpg

4EuISyV.jpg

If you listen close you can faintly hear him say "Kill me.."