Home General Discussion

If you suddenly had the urge to give up being a games artist....

Replies

• NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    Tons of interesting posts here. As a student I can't really say too much. I've been doing both the environmental art and programming for a game I've been developing with a small team for the last 2 years but I'm in a university working on a degree in Computer Science.

It seems like working in the games industry would have to be an incredibly long term goal for me which is unfortunate because I love programming games and making any kind of game art. Personally, I don't really care too much about money but I'm not sure how I feel about having to constantly worry about keeping my job. It's relatively easy to get a non-game related programming job that you can support yourself with, but work will feel a lot less exciting (in my opinion).
  • AA3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AA3D polycounter lvl 3
    my mind just refuses the idea of giving up . even tho i should think all the possibilities and have a plan B .
    im in fine arts college BTW .. maybe i could do that even tho i hate it .. and yeah its by no means a stable job . but if u got a name you could sell crap for a couple of K's . iv seen 1 of my professors sell a crappy dress for 10K .
    also another job that is related to 3D is architecture visualization . iv been to architecture college . didnt like it . left it . made my father sad ( his an architect ) its an option i guess
  • MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    Baj Singh wrote: »
    ..what would you consider doing instead?