Home Technical Talk

3DS/Vray Render Help

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
zebus_0 polycounter lvl 7
I'm working on the tutorial via Digital Tutors of the Photorealistic bedroom
Here: http://www.digitaltutors.com/tutorial/1083-Creating-a-Photorealistic-Bedroom-in-3ds-Max

I'm in the home stretch, trying to set up renders but I'm running into more problems. Made threads about this tutorial before. Like a lot of tutorials it falls completely flat when it comes to "this is some problems you might encounter, here's what it could be". I'm still learning 3ds max, have never set up a render, let alone in Vray.
Anyway, the problem is that my renders were first rending flat black. I assumed that I may have some issues with my physical vray camera, so I adjusted the settings and now my renders are blowing out white. Attaching pics of my camera and sun settings. It's also telling me I can't render unless I select a valid object, I didn't think selection of objects was necessary for rendering the scene.
Any ideas?

Replies

• .Wiki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    .Wiki polycounter lvl 8
    If its blown out you need to change the f-number (higher value means = less light reaches the film/sensor) and lower the shutter speed (also less light).
  • xXm0RpH3usXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xXm0RpH3usXx polycounter lvl 13
    Did you check your max internal Gamma settings?
  • bacteria
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    try turn off exposure on your camera
  • Rombo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, that means your Vray Camera Exposure is too short or too long for the shot you're looking for.
    This viscorbel link will give you a pretty good idea how things work, let me know if you run into any problems, I might be able to help out.

http://viscorbel.com/vray-physical-camera-tutorial/